Mixing Fuel

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Al Hobbs

Legend of the NW
Vendor
I've been mixing my own nitro fuel for almost 45 years. There are advantages and disadvantages to mixing your own fuel.

There are several different fuels available to you commercially and their quality is very good. So, if you have a reliable supplier, you should be happy.

One thing is certain, mixing your own fuel will not save you any money. The two most expensive components, nitromethane and oil are much cheaper for the person that buys in drums. When you buy in smaller lots, your cost goes up.

The advantage to me is that my fuel never changes when I drive to different races. That, and being able to change my fuel to work best in different engines are the only advantages.

If you decide to try mixing your own fuel, the biggest problem is buying nitromethane. It is expensive and heavy. Very heavy, so watch your back when handleing nitromethane.

There are several different oils available. I have been using Klotz SuperTechniplate, a blend of synthetic and castor oils. It is easy to get in gallon jugs.

Methanol is simple to buy. I have been buying VP methanol in 5 gallon cans.

To mix fuel successfully, consistency is most important. Go though the same process each time. I mix in 5 gallon lots. Measure carefully to keep your mixture consistent.

The most common fuels are 40%, 50% and 60% nitro content fuels. These are simple to arrive at the recipe you like.

I use 50% in my 67 and larger engines. I also use 20% oil content in my larger engines. I measure by volume, not by weight.