Klass koat primer?

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Danny King

Is it necessary to use primer with klass coat. Not as concerned with finish as I am with it sticking.

Ok thank you. Just wondering if it could be a bonding issue. Weight is more important than finish. But peeling is not acceptable.

I use KK, and the results have always been great... if, you read the data he sends with every order, the actual flash times are what determine the bond.... and the course you must take to aquire... recalling maybe, that an early ( within a short time) application of base to primer will gain chemical and mechanical, bonding, and waiting over 48 hours after prime, you must sand/scuff to achieve mechanical only........ I'm a novice painter, but, when i get set up to paint, i plan 2 days, and take the operation to final, to give me the best results i can get, either chemical....or mechanical or both.... clean, and dust free are key.... better painters than me around... but KK even makes me look good.... paint 'em up.... Mike

Good painting info here and I have a question about wiping before shooting . For example on a wood /epoxy sealed deal , shooting with Imron I just wipe the scuffed sealed boat with the Imron reducer with a damp cloth and let dry a little while . If it's cool I'll warm it up with a heat gun , then spray a tack coat and subsequent final coat . Seems to work as long as I don't prime first otherwise sometimes top coat can peel over time ..hate that .

So do you guys use Pre Kleano or oil remover (have seen both ) of some kind ?

Kleenz works very well as the last thing to do before you tack the boat down to paint it.....NAPA carries it i believe. We use it for our small fleet of spray trucks which are painted with Imron, and ive used it on a few of my boats also.