JAE21 FE pulling to the right

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John MacLean

I've been searching this forum for possible answers to why my rigger is pulling to the right at high speed. This boat that was built from JAE21 G2 plans a buddy passed along to me last winter. Besides having to modify the tub to accomodate a 4s setup I also fabricated the turn fin as to the design plans. The tub and sponsons are flat and square.

I love the way the boat accelerates and rips through the curners but it really only runs straight at half throttle. When it accelerates to full throttle it pulls right even when holding full left rudder. I am new to riggers and to building but I run with a couple of guys who have been building since the 80's. I did use a jig and build board as recommended by the Zippkits manual. One of my buddies looked at my turn fin and observed slight twist in it so I repaced it with a new one I had the guys in the sheet metal shop at work make for me using a hydraulic brake to keep my bends parrallel. I made the second one out of stainless which I thought should take care of any flexing issues. The results were the same. Then, wanting to rule out the turn fin entirely, I purchased one form Zippkits and ran it this past weekend with not much change if any. The only adjustment that seemed to make any difference was adjusting the pushrod connection at the rudder and shimming the strut a little on the right side.

I have read posts that suggest a number of reasons for this issue from the tub being out of square to prop walk to rudder sharpness and length.

Here are my setup details

CG is at the 60/40 mark as determined by an electronic kitche scale.

Turnigy 3665 motor

Batteries - 2 2s Zippyflight

Servo--- Hitec HS485 (6Kg/cm 80 oz/inches)

The rudder length is 146 mm. (It extends 3,1/4 inches below the ski)

Prop --- 1450 modified from Zippkits.