HTB 290 CRACKS

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

winzracing

Hi Guys..Last year I got myself a HTB 290 thru James at O.E.R in GERMANY and had great dealings with JAMES thru out the whole purchase and set up...I have had the boat I would say for about 10 months or so and really only used it in our summer time here in MUD ISLAND..I have started to notice bad hairline and spider cracks on the front of the cowling by the nose and also at the front of the sponsons..(this boat has never been in any accident)NOW do i worry about these as I work in the marine industry here in the UK and if I had a NEW BOAT come in to the workshop with what I see I would be worried and contact the boat builder.I have sent three emails to Mark Hopper about this and I havent had a reply(HEY I MIGHT HAVE THE WRONG EMAIL) please if any guys have the email addres please send it on..I have sent an email to the address on the HTB website...James hope you remember the boat bud ANY IDEAS WHAT I SHOULD DO..Barry UK :D

Barry, Marks email is [email protected] Of course I remember the boat. Its not uncommon to see hairline cracks in the cowl, it happens. Its usually the gelcoat cracking not necessarily the glass itself. HTB's are built tough, as tough as any boat out there to be honest. Personally, I wouldnt worry myself over it. I have three of them and they all have hairline cracks in the gelcoat. All it takes is one good stuff/flip at speed (which we have all done) and they will be there. The cowling also gets cracks in it (the rear/middle) due to picking the boat up/launching it by holding the cowling with your fingers and thumb instead of using two hands and holding it by the sides. Gelcoat (as you probably know) is quite brittle, so when the glass flex's, you get cracks.

I am not speaking for Mark or HTB on this, its just my personal opinion.

~James

Barry,