Dumas 1972 Atlas Van Lines U-71 Sport 40 Hydro

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jetpack

Hello Everyone,

I am going to build the Dumas 1972 Atlas kit and hoping people that have built the kit would offer suggestions or pictures of theirs to help me build mine.

I realize the wood is heavy, and most will probably be replaced. I would just like to see people's work or suggestions on getting the drive line set up with the pipe under the cowl, maybe some radio box suggestions, cowl lock setups, or any help on making my own dummy engine to help round out its looks after its done.

I am a decent builder with good experience and wouldn't mind scratch building my own dummy engine, or even doing a semi-scale cockpit with seat, wheel and dials, and was also wondering if there are any sets of aftermarket decals to replace my kit one, they do need replacing. I remember a few years ago I had stumbled across a magazine article how to make the rear fin stronger but don't remember it too well or where to find it.

Maybe if anyone remembers any old magaizines that featured a build up on this too would help, I would search those out for a copy.

I am going to try and make this a nice, decent attempt at a semi-scale build and looking for suggestions.

I am pretty much set on what engine and hardware is going in it. I have a Moki 40 Marine that is in fine shape that has a rear exhaust, and plan on using modified Octura hardware for the strut and rudder arrangement.

Thank you!

Last edited by a moderator:
Hello Everyone,
I am going to build the Dumas 1972 Atlas kit and hoping people that have built the kit would offer suggestions or pictures of theirs to help me build mine.