20 cal craft with ops 3.5

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tmunn

I have purchased this boat and installed a 3.5 speed with rotary carb.I got a few runs but then broke the con rod.

I have a NIB 3.5 speed that had the turbo head and buggy(slide) carb.I took the head button off my broken 3.5 and put it on the new engine.

So now i have basically a new 3.5 ops speed that will take the standard plug.

I did get a couple runs with it before the con rod broke.It seemed to be plowing the water or heavy in the front.

I tried the x437/3 and she did not want to sing out like it should.

I tried the P 215 and she revved up much better and was doing o-k till the rod broke.

I have no experience with mono's what so ever but i assume it should Ride with a slightly nose high attitude and fly across the water and not push through it.

I have my new .29-40 ops pipe set at 8.5" and it seemed to like that.

Do you think there are any decent speeds attainable with this older engine or am i beat before i start it is new?

What props would you recommend to try?

Thanks guys.

Terry

Kick your strut out as much as possible and try a 440 3 blade and depitch it a small bit see how that works Robert R&R Racing

I have that prop i beleive and can kick the strut out no problem.

I will try that next time out...

Have you checked the bottom of that calcraft? Place a straightedge on the bottom from the transom to about 8-10 inches forward. Calcrafts were noted for having bad bottoms right out of the mold. If its nice and flat, it will fly, If it has any hook or concavity at all, it will plow water, no matter what you do.....This will be part of the reason for the weak rod breaking in the OPS.....It had alot of load on it pushing that hull through the water.....