1/16 Scale Hydro - round nose

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dschigoda

I am new to FE.

I am considering building a 1/16 Scale Hydro (round nose). There doesn't appear to be an "official" class for this - so this will either be a "just for fun boat" or maybe I will start a local spec class. I may even run a counter-clockwise course, like the full size.

The hull would be about 22" by 11", using G. Findlay plans.

Does anyone have any recommendations for a resonably priced brushless motor, ESC and LI battery that would be appropriate for this size and weight of hull? Or maybe where I should start looking to research this? Is there a group that races 1/16 Scale hydros anywhere?

Thanks!

Check out my 1/16th scale build here all the info is there to answer your questions

http://forums.offshoreelectrics.com/showthread.php?t=6989

I am new to FE.

I am considering building a 1/16 Scale Hydro (round nose). There doesn't appear to be an "official" class for this - so this will either be a "just for fun boat" or maybe I will start a local spec class. I may even run a counter-clockwise course, like the full size.

The hull would be about 22" by 11", using G. Findlay plans.

Does anyone have any recommendations for a resonably priced brushless motor, ESC and LI battery that would be appropriate for this size and weight of hull? Or maybe where I should start looking to research this? Is there a group that races 1/16 Scale hydros anywhere?

Thanks!

Unfortunately Jim's thread does nothing to answer your questions. A boat that size traditionally would run an 05 brushed car motor on 6 or 7 NiMH cells, spinning an x430-x435 prop. It would qualify as an N2 hydro.

Built today with BL power, any small 540 or maybe a 380/400-sized BL motor with a Kv around 3300 on 2S LiPo or 6 NiMH cells should work. I am not familiar with the smaller motors, I'm sure others will chime in.