Rigger prop depth

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jstolz

I am new to riggers. I am building a Climate Blizzard. I would lile to get an idea of where the prop centerline should be in relationship to the tub bottom.

jstolz said:
I am new to riggers.  I am building a Climate Blizzard.  I would lile to get an idea of where the prop centerline should be in relationship to the tub bottom.
89480[/snapback]

I don't know where the "sweet spot" would be for this boat, but here is a brief explanation I did a while back that might help you get the concept.

shallowstrut.gif

deepstrut.gif

Remember, it's not just depth, but angle too! Depth controls the angle of attack on the sponsons, angle contols the back of the boat. Too much angle and the tail will hop, too little angle and the boat will ride on the transom, not the prop like it should (that means slow).

Good luck,

Dick

Hi Dick,

too little angle and the boat will ride on the transom, not the prop like it should (that means slow).
I don't know if I would agree with that. Not saying that having some angle on the strut is a bad thing but for me I wouldn't be satisfied with a hydro that needed angle to keep the transom up. On all my hydros (sport and rigger) I run flat struts and let the prop/CG do the work, guess that's why I like the 17 and P series props. ;)

Paul.

Paul Pachmayer said:
Hi Dick,
too little angle and the boat will ride on the transom, not the prop like it should (that means slow).
I don't know if I would agree with that. Not saying that having some angle on the strut is a bad thing but for me I wouldn't be satisfied with a hydro that needed angle to keep the transom up. On all my hydros (sport and rigger) I run flat struts and let the prop/CG do the work, guess that's why I like the 17 and P series props. ;)

Paul.

89491[/snapback]