Question for painters-priming?

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dannyual767

Guys, I'm a newb to painting and I've got some priming questions. Here are some details to start:

I'm using PPG Omni paints including MP282 high build, 2K urethane primer and, on Tuesday, I shot it on 4 boats that I'm currently working on.

a.) Aeromarine Avenger-a rebuild with some polyester resin/cloth repair work

b.) Dumas SK Daddle original build

c.) Dumas Lil Rascal original build

d.) Dumas DV20 rebuild with a very rough hull

I didn't know how much primer to apply so I shot a ton of it with my HVLP detail gun :eek: . When I started sanding on Wednesday, I couldn't believe how much primer was on the SK and DV20! I know the Avenger and Lil Rascal have less.

Anyway, I dry sanded and sanded with a used piece of 220 grit wet or dry paper. I then used 400 grit and got it smooth as glass. Lots of primer came off and I got the SK and DV20 nice and smooth and evenly blocked but there are some areas where I sanded back down to the epoxy sealed wood. 95% of the hull is still covered in grey primer. I'm planning on shooting one more thin coat of primer to recover everything :ph34r: .

How much primer should I be sanding off? Weight is always an issue! As far as my final coat of primer goes, what if I sand through some areas again? Will I have to reshoot a third time to make sure everything is covered in primer before I spray color?

Thanks for any suggestions and info!

Danny

Guys, I'm a newb to painting and I've got some priming questions. Here are some details to start:
I'm using PPG Omni paints including MP282 high build, 2K urethane primer and, on Tuesday, I shot it on 4 boats that I'm currently working on.