IMPBA vs NAMBA

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pa_28r_200

I have a question for you guys. I'm a relative newbie & I've found myself getting involved in a new club that has recently formed in the area. I've been involved with many RC aircraft clubs over the years and have been an officer in pretty much all capacities so I know all to well about the politics involved.

Keep in mind that this area that encompasses a pretty large metropolitan cross section, and there are quite a few boaters that currently are inactive due to lack of a facility. The lake we have aquired is very suitable and in an industrial area next to a major highway....noise will not be a factor, and it is centrally located. The property owner is very receptive to developing what sounds like will be a first rate club along with docks a driving stand. I'm very excited about it, personally.

It was voted on, prior to my joining, to be an IMPBA club.

Now, here is the question. As I've gotten around and talked to the LHS', I've found that many potential members have indicated that they do not want to be a part of the club, simply because it is IMPBA sanctioned. I don't get it. Why ?? What difference does it make...insurance is insurance....

In fact, I would go as far as to say that the dislike is as strong what I saw when I was learning to fly heli's years ago from the old school airplane guys.....it makes no sense.....these guys would rather not run boats at all.

Anyway, maybe you guys could shed a little light on it for me....