peoples thoughts...and help

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Krusty 181

Hi all andrew here,im relatively new to boating(done the plane and car stuff for years)

id like to know what people thing of the Dumas scale kits (the 1/8th circus circus,miller,van lines and smaller stuff)

i myself enjoy building from a kit and these are the only type kits i have been able to get to Australia ,i have noted that some people consider these kits to be of average quality , id just like to know what this forum thinks and what they use(do you built from scratch or are there better kits out there?)

i have been building an old Atlas van lines U-71 kit, (the sports 40 one? 36 " long if that helps )

and as im not using the dumas running gear id like some help if possible with strut depth ,angle and possible prop choice (im planning on using a K&B 45 at present )

any help greatly appreciated

Hi Andrew, welcome to model boating.

Let's see first off the wood in most of the Dumas kits is an exterior grade of luan door skin material,

it will need some sealing to make it water and fuel proof. Luan is a light weight wood and I have built

several Dumas kits over the years and have used some of it and replaced it with aircraft ply where I needed good solid wood. As for the kit you are currently building the Atlas U-71, 36" kit, that was an early kit and has been out there for a long time and is a nice looking model. You didn't say what hardware you are using

but the set up should be the same. Once you have the boat built & sheeted, all except for the upper decking being attached, install the braces that will support the strut at the correct distance from the transom, so that

the rear eadge of the drive dog on the shaft is even with the transom of the boat and not stick out past it.