Outboard

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

amv3704

I'm new to RC boating, I have a few questions, I'm building a tunnel hull boat right now... I notice no one talks about the O.S. outboard... Is the K&B outboard better.. Trying to get the facts on which one to buy.. I run a O.S. cvr.12 on my rc10gt, and I've had good luck with it.. Would I be wasting my time on the O.S. outboard?? I do like speed, so i'd want the better performer of the 2..

Mike

I think No,,you wouldn't be wasting your time on an OS OB. I personaly Don't run

one but I own one. Theres a few guys in NAMBA 8 that are running them,,but them

few seem to be takin' all the trophys home. (or maybe most of the trophys)

Mark Anderson and Greg Roth,,others I'm sure :)

First off...Welcome aboard!

Now for your question. Here's my take on it...for years and years K&B was the most popular engine for the outboard market. Parts were plentiful and cheap by comparison.

Thunder Tiger, OS and a couple lesser known companies tried to get a piece of the action, but K&B pretty much had the market cornered considering the number of engines already in service.

But times change. Several years ago K&B sold out to MECOA. The production lines were moved and subsequently had to be retooled (according to MECOA). Engines and parts were backordered, and modelers were given empty promises as to dates of availability. This began to leave a bad taste in the mouths of outboarders, and they started looking toward other power supplies. The use of OS and TT were on the rise, along with the use of exotic powerheads like Rossi mounted on Lawless lowers or modded K&B hardware.

Now MECOA is producing some of the outboards again, but it's almost too little, too late.

Does that answer your question? No, not really. :blink: