Novarossi on K&B Lower

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

David Moyle

Hi everyone,

I'm putting together a Novarossi onto a K&B lower. I'm just wondering what my options are for a steering arm? Will the K&B arm fit up to the lower Nova engine mount holes, or will I have to make something up?

Thanks in advance,

Dave

Dave

I would suggest you go with another lower. You are going to end up breaking a lot of cables with the nova on there. One with a lay down design. The one I like the best is the OS. I have my MAC with a modified OS PTO. Works awesome.

Mike

well i can say different ok.

i use the K&B outboard mount on the bottom 2 holes the engine and the top left side for the throttle i have not had any of them break yet and i have been racing them for almost 2 years

get some flex shafts from kris flynn here on iw. you won't be breaking them B) !! someone, maybe rod geraghty, did some testing as to how much power loss you had in different lowers. the k&b was the most efficient/less frictional loss of all. including rek, lawless, & os.

Thanks for the input guys! :D I intend to keep running the k&b lower for a while (the boat is set up for it, I am just doing a powerhead swap). I've been running Kris' flex shafts for a while now, and have had great success with them (between us we figured out that shorter square sections take a lot of stress out of the shaft). I've been experimenting with different teflon tubes, at the moment I'm using 6mm od / 4mm id teflon and it seems to work great! Supports the shaft well, and the extra support increases the life span of the prop shaft.

Great to hear that I can use the k&b steering arm too! B)

i agree, tim. a brass or stainless liner is MUCH better than a nylon or teflon one. there's a reason k&b gives you 2 liners with every flex B) . a LOT of "broken" flex shafts were actually caused by liner failure, imho.