Laser cutting from plans

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

myrcbud

Does anybody have any info on how I can get a set of Newton plans laser cut? What would one have to do to prep the plans for the service? All I'm looking for is for the frames and the shears to be cut, so what kind of money am I looking at? Do you usually have to supply your own wood?

Thanks for any help that anyone can give me.

I would think would they have to be drawn up in a CAD program such as AutoCad so that data could be fed into the laser cutter. Climate models has a cutting service and they could tell you what they really need and how much it would cost. I'm considering doing the same thing myself as I have a few of the Newton plans and being a CAD drafter by trade, drawing them up and cutting enough formers to make two or three extra sets to sell to help defray the cost of cutting them out. Hope this helps. Bob

tracerbob, I've heard that vectorizing has to be done in order for the plans to be cut from a cad file Whats that all about?

Vectorizing means a series of interconnected lines that terminate at coordinates. This is the output a cad program gives you. The lines are connected from one coordinate to another. Sort of like connect the dots. Programs, such as laser cutters, water jet cutters and CNC machines use these interconnected lines like a map to tell the cutting head where to go. For instance, it could tell the machine to cut 5 inches to the left, stop, and cut 5 inches up, stop, and so on. On the other side of the coin is raster files which are simply dots. Put enough together in some kind of a pattern and you have a picture. This is the kind of output you get from a scanner and is of no use to cutting machines.