First Tunnelhull

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grant

Hello everyone.

As I am new to the r/c boating scene i thought i shoud get some advice.

I would like to get a 3.5 tunnelhull outboard boat. As this would be my first tunnelhull what would you guys suggest as far as engine and hull design. I don't plan on racing it but i would like a quickish boat that handles good.

Any suggestions

P.S After reading a few posts it seams the dunlap 27 is popular. Would this be a good first boat? Where could i get plans in Australia?

Cheers. ;D

You wanna build a wood boat, then? Check out the WOF28/30 post, or go to www.grimracer.com and order yourself a Villain S1. The Villain is a pre cut kit, and it's really easy for putting together your first.

If you're gonna get the Villain, you should probably order it from Tim Fulton at Precisionboatsracing.com. He has helped me out a TON.

The only company actively making an outboard for .21 size engines is Thunder Tiger. I would advise against buying a K&B on ebay because parts for the old ones are non existent, and parts for the new ones have been scarce, to say the least. Good luck.

.21 size engines that complete with a lower unit, that is. Of course you could always spend some extra $$ and get an expensive powerhead with another company's lower unit, but that's up to you.

Hi Grant,

I gather from your post your in Australia - wherabouts?

I'm pushing tunnels in Oz - send me an e-mail and we'll see what we can sort out for you.

cheers

GT ;D

If I had a choice between the Dunlap 27 and the JD WOF 28/30 - I'd go with the WOF 28/30.

Just my opinion, of course.

If you can afford the cost of the kit and shipping, the Villain S1 is an excellent choice.

If you don't really plan on racing, the wood kit version of the Dumas Hot Shot Sprint is a good running boat with a stock motor. You can order it from Towerhobbies.com