finishing resin

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

john schultheis

hi just wondering if anyone has used great planes or z poxy finishing resin i'm kinda new to building so i need a good easy to use finishing resin to seal the hull on my jae 21 and also is this stuff water proof or does it need to be painted thanks

hi just wondering if anyone has used great planes or z poxy finishing resin i'm kinda new to building so i need a good easy to use finishing resin to seal the hull on my jae 21 and also is this stuff water proof or does it need to be painted thanks
I have used Z-Poxy in the past and was pleased with the results, but I prefer West Systems now. To get a really smooth finish I sand the first coat to knock down the raised grain of the wood and then apply a second finish coat. Always try the product on a scrap piece of the same wood your hull is made from FIRST to see how it reacts. If you follow the manufacturer's directions, you are probably going to be ok. As long as you coat all the surfaces evenly, it isn't necessary to paint over the resin for waterproofing.

Z-poxy works great, what I use exclusively. thin 50% with de-natured alky and apply in three thin coats, 180 sand between coats, prep with 200 prior to paint or clearcoat. you can speed cure time by setting up in the back of a truck with a bed shell in the sun! 120 deg ambient will cure it in 40 to 50 minutes

good luck

gh

Use the Z-Poxy on this boat, and then on your next one use West Systems 105 resin with 206 hardener. You will think back and wish you used West Systems with this project. It goes on easy and sands out beautifully. It has a longer application time allowing it to permeate the wood for the best seal. Make sure you get the pump set with it. It's an extra 15 bucks or so, but well worth it. It pumps the exact 5 to 1 ratio of resin to hardener for the perfect cure.