AC sport 40

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eric Canto

Supporting Member
Hello everyone. I am putting an AC sport 40 together and would like any input you may have. Although I have been racing for many years, I have no experience with the sport boats. I will be using a MAC 45. I would appreciate any prop/pipe/set-up input you may have.

Thanks

Eric

i just picked up an ac sport 40 from Charley Howarth you should talk to him he knows his boat stuff

not2bright said:
i just picked up an ac sport 40 from Charley Howarth you should talk to him he knows his boat stuff
76143[/snapback]

I am good, aren't I??? :lol:

Eric.. Get in touch with Brian Watts at Rockety City Racing.. They run some very fast AC Sport 40's down there.. I believe the strut should be set 1" from the bottom of the boat. I was able to run any prop from 450/3 to 1455/3. Add weight to the nose if it gets light..

Charley

i currenlty run the pro 40 II it's a hard to beat boat with the proper set up. the instructions state that the strut should be 7/8 from the bottom. also very important is blue printing the sponson bottom 2" from the edge make them perfectly flat.i found that the parapolic pipe works really well @10.250 you can even go down to 9.750. i believe that the strut should have a negative angle 1 degree i found that when the strut is at 0 Deg @7/8" the nose is a little high strut angle is one area that i will experiment with next year the props that work well are 450/3 and 2 1455/3 with a little pitch too much angle and the nose will dig in. 447/3 in rough water is a killer prop. i have a few motor and pipe combos that i want to try so i wont let the cat out of the bag yet :ph34r: :D :D

Another prop for the MAC would be an X646/3, that's the one I was told to use when I contacted CMD about some good choices.