Question for the paint guru's.

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tim_Duggan

Hey Guys,

Had my first attempt at clear coating a "natural" rigger tub last night, The lighting wasn't so good and I'm still learning the HVLP gun. Anyway - I was a bit too heavy handed with the paint and got some major paint runs..... looks average :(

Whats the best way to fix it? Sand it back and re seal then respray? Or other?

Tim the paint newbie.

Depending on how bad the runs are you could wet sand them out with some 600 wet paper and then use some rubbing compound on it. If you decide to wet sand it use some dish soap in the water it seams to sand better with less clogging of the paper.

Thank you Terry,

I will give it a try. It has to be easier and faster than starting all over again.

Tim.

Terry Flynn said:
Depending on how bad the runs are you could wet sand them out with some 600 wet paper and then use some rubbing compound on it. If you decide to wet sand it use some dish soap in the water it seams to sand better with less clogging of the paper.
94309[/snapback]

Terry's right about the wet sanding, & the soap trick works. One thing to add is be patient. If you get too heavy handed on the runs you'll cut thru the area around the run before you knock down the run itself. :eek:

Tim scrape the run with a razor blade just like you do with the epoxy.get it down that way then do what Terry says.if you go thru just give it another lite coat.

Nikos

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks Guru's! I just knew I'd get some good answers from you. :) :D

Dave,

I couldn't get the PPG unfortunately :( I had every intention of using it after Don and others reccomended it. It's out there but I just couldn't get it in time. I used some stuff that other Aussies have used successfully.It's the same brand of paint I've been using with colour and it has been holding up very well.