Newbie question about ESC ....

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fabian Hill

Hi,

Total newbie in brushless stuff and just thought I'd get a small esc and motor to setup a small airboat first , but eventually would like to setup my 7.5cc size tunnel hull with outboard brushless.

Anyway my total Newbie question is this .... and please don't all laugh at once ....

On the TURNIGY TRUST 55A SBEC Brushless Speed Controller one end has three wires with bullet connectors which "I assume plug into the motor" the wires are marked "A" "B" "C"

the wires on the motor are yellow black red

anyone care to tell me what goes to what ?

Thanks heaps for reading my first post.

Cheers

Fabs

Always ask the questions as you will not learn! On the ESC there will be 5 wires, in general 3 on one end and 2 wires on the other end. (There is also a connection to the Rx, but that should be pretty clear.) The motor will use the 3 wires from the ESC, it does not matter (at first) what wire goes where on the motor wires. The other 2 wires go to the battery, and YES they need to be hooked up correctly! After you set the throttle range (that is done in different ways, the ESC will tell you how to set this) run the motor, if it spins the wrong way reverse ANY 2 of the motor wires (the motor has 3 wires remember) and this will change the motor rotation.

Paul

Ah ha, thank you very much Paul, awesome not scared any more lol ha ha

Is there a good " newbie to brushless " article anywhere that's fairly complete an concise ?

I don't suppose you would have any tips on setting up that tunnel hull ? for 7.5cc equivalent power in a brushless and what type of lower and where to get it all at a reasonable cost .... ?

Thanks again mate,

Fabs