Hydroplane C/G Starting Point

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Terry Heddin

Need help to find correct C/G for this hydroplane? Hopefully I have included enough info in my crude sketch.

Attachments

• thumbnail_20240121_164102.jpg
    thumbnail_20240121_164102.jpg
    207.1 KB · Views: 0
  • 20231230_173815.jpg
    20231230_173815.jpg
    302.9 KB · Views: 0
Guys, asking this question as I'm new to rc hydroplanes. From the answers I read above, I'm to assume the balance point is set (meaning interior gear moved forward/boat back) to make boat balance where the turn fin is set. From everything I've read and seen in set up videos, the turn fin is placed based on the balance point and not vise versa as noted above. Am I missing something? Appreciate any clarification applicable. THX-Bill

The C.G. needs to be where it needs to be, based on lift/weight/speed. The turn fins relationship to the C.G. changes the boats steering response. Without any knowledge of the boat in question, all anyone can do is make an educated guess of a starting point that will need to be tuned.

Hi mate
I am like you new to hydroplane
And what I have done with my boat is carefully pick the boat up between my fore tinger tips at the point just behind the sponson transom. And adjusting back an fourth as necessary until you pick the boat evenly at that point that will be the balance point an c g . Not exact but a good starting point.
Ps
With the boat empty no running gear . This point will change when adding motors ect.

Hi mate
I am like you new to hydroplane
And what I have done with my boat is carefully pick the boat up between my fore tinger tips at the point just behind the sponson transom. And adjusting back an fourth as necessary until you pick the boat evenly at that point that will be the balance point an c g . Not exact but a good starting point.
Ps