ESC rules in IMPBA/NAMBA

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tim leyde

I am a NEWBIE to FE, as I am building a spec tunnel. I have a VS1, UL motor, and a Turnigy 120 ESC. In another forum a post was made that stated something to the piont as follows:

Namba = Any ESC with a spec motor

IMPBA = 60 ESC (AQ)? with a spec motor

I dont want to cause an argument by any means, Just want to understand the rules. I run in IMPBA and if I'm building a spec boat, I want it leagel.

In IMPBA can any 60 ESC be used or does it need to be the AQ one?

As stated in a another thread the Turnigy 120 dosnt have any advantages do to the spec motor, then why cant it be used in IMPBA?

Like I said I'm NEW to FE and am just wanting to know.

Tim

Last edited by a moderator:
I am a NEWBIE to FE, as I am building a spec tunnel. I have a VS1, UL motor, and a Turnigy 120 ESC. In another forum a post was made that stated something to the piont as follows:

Namba = Any ESC with a spec motor

IMPBA = 60amp ESC (AQ)? with a spec motor

I dont want to cause an argument by any means, Just want to understand the rules. I run in IMPBA and if I'm building a spec boat, I want it leagel.

Tim
Some of us are still discussing whether or not to add an official class for the P-limited boats as we already have quite a few power classes to choose from in FE for IMPBA. Here in IMPBA District 4 we run the limited motors with no restriction on ESC. In District 12 and 13 they are restricting the ESCs to those offered by ProBoat and Aquacraft.

How many other racers in your district/club are running P-limited boats? What controllers are they using? If they are using a wide variety of ESCs... leave the ESC open. If they are using ProBoat and AQ ESCs, set the rules to that. Each club and district are different, so set the rules that work best for you.

Sean,