Pay N Pak

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

griz2575

I was wondering how I would go about building a jig for the Pay n Pak? This is my first build and I want it as straight as I can get it. Thanks for any info. John

I was wondering how I would go about building a jig for the Pay n Pak? This is my first build and I want it as straight as I can get it. Thanks for any info. John
Are you scratch building it, or is it a Dumas kit? What size engine is it for? Ive built a 20 and a 40 size Pak from Dumas kits and am building 60 size Pak also from a Dumas kit....There is also a gentleman that goes by Hydro Junkie that has a bunch of experience with that type of boat that will chime in, im sure....are you going to build the '73,74,75 piston engine version? Thats what im building or TRYING to build..... :)

Hi guys,

If its the Dumas kits, then its a simple board. On the sport 20 Pak Its a 1 X 7-5/8 X 30". On the sport 40 size i used a 1 X 9 X 32". If its the 8th scale I would reconmend same thing, just measure the tunnel width X hull length. your gonna have to shim the building board about an inch or so, to allow for the sponson bottoms.

I assembled the sponson stringers and cockpit insides and frames 1-9 loosely on the jig. Then using a square edge or triangle, I made sure that the sponson stringers were flat against the board and that all frames were squared up even...i then used thumb tacks and tacked down the sponson stringers to the building board. using a machinist ruler I checked my height on both stringers to make sure all was in alignment. I then proceeded to epoxy the frames and cockpit sides in place....making sure that they laid flat against the building board evenly.

Dont forget to use wax paper or similar or you may end up glueing your board to your boat....