Thunder Tiger 3.5 OB Engine?

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kris Flynn

Hey All

i just wanted to find out if anyone else here has used and/or raced a TT OB? i know TimD has with success, but i just wanted to see if anyone else would recoment this engine over a K&B?

TIA

Kris

Kris,

I've had some experience with the Thunder Tiger. It is a well made motor. However, I was unable to get it to perform as well as the K&B 3.5ss. It is also about 8 oz. heavier than a K&B 3.5ss.

For what that's worth,

Jerry Dunlap

If you want to run in the Mod Class you could run a tuned pipe and open the exhaust timing up to 180 degrees. With these simple mods this engine will perform very well.

Hey Jerry and Craig, thanks very much for the responses, greatly apprecated

if i get one, whihc i will decide in the next week or so...i will run it stock and maybe do some of the mods that Tim suggests in his article and run it in a stock class, then when i am more experience add a pipe :>

Kris

hey kris,

ive run both o.s. and tt outboards. Both had tuned pipes and custom props on the same tunnel hull. The tt motor has gears between the motor and the flex shaft where as other motors are direct drive. I noticed a big difference between the motors. There is way more power with the o.s. outboards and k&b( if you can find one). If your gonna race stock class the tt would be fine but for a little more money the O.s. is a heck of a motor.

eric

Hea guys

My buddy Squeaky has one and he took 2nd at the 21 shootout in mod tunnel with the thing hung on the back of a Villain. CrAzY.. Its not the fastet thing in the world (IMPBA stock leagal, no pipe) but it runs so darn nice that it just keep trucking. I tryed to talk him out of hanging that thing on his Villain and now im glad i dident.

Dont sell that little motor short, on the right hull it can move right along.

Grimracer