Portable charging station

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrianTooms

Supporting Member
Anybody make a portable charging station?

The helicopter guys have some pretty fancy setups for high powered chargers there is even a store that sells Pelican-like cases and accessories to make them. You can see some of the setups on the helifreak and wattsflyer forums.

I just picked up the Cellpro PowerLab 6, Multi-Chemistry, 1000W Battery Workstation it's a pretty amazing charger like it's big brother the PL8. Some of the things it can do (I'm still learning) regenerative discharge charges your Pb battery while you discharge to store your lipo's, you can monitor and change settings from a PC, low voltage restore mode for over-discharged packs, and cold weather mode.

It can parallel charge at up to 40 amps with the appropriate power supply and they can be daisy-chained together.

I run it from a 24v 47amp power supply and they both can easily fit in a Rubbermaid toolbox with room for my old chargers, cables, battery meters and wattmeter. At the pond power can be from 12 or 24 volt starter batteries.

There is lots of info on the net about making high amp power supplies from old computer server supplies but my DIY attempt ended in a puff of smoke so I went with a ready made unit. :)

One of the main problems is having enough Ah at the pond. Unless you use a car battery you won't have enough juice for more than a few packs. Once you start to loose voltage on the lead-acid battery the charger will give you a "low input voltage" message and you're done. Most guys who stay for the day use a small generator...JMHO...

Hey Brian,

That is sweet! Dave Kingston has a sweet setup for his chargers (6 X Hyperions) but it plugs into mains power at the lake (generator) not a battery.