Offset Drivelines in 1/8 Hydroplanes

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

circus circus

Just want to get some feedback on this subject. It is in my opinion that offsetting the driveline helps with offsetting engine torque and even heard it helps propwalk.

I have no experience with offsetting drivelines in 1/8 scales only on smaller 1/12 and 1/10 hydroplanes, does it make a difference? Im working on a RcBoatCompany hull SG-121H and would like to know if this is a good idea on a modern day hydro design. Please share your opinion.

Thanks guys

Last edited by a moderator:
I'll be interested in this too..... but my opinion is run the strut in the center of the hull.

move 3/8 to 5/8 to the left side of boat with strut 1.0 to 2.0 deg pushing to the inside of couse

NO, You Move the strut to the left side of the hull(JUST LIKE YOU WERE SETTING IN THE HULL) To aid in the helping of torque problems. You want the left sponson to help turn the boat.

Last edited:
Im with Doug on this.

My Oberto and Super Sport 45 both have offset drive lines. Boats are ROCKETS in the corners!

My Oberto has the motor centered in the hull with the drive line offset 1.5deg. This moves the strut left about 1/2"

My SS45 has the motor offset right with 1.5 deg offset. This put the prop center of the hull.

The Oberto is a tick better in the corners!.. but not much!

Grim

OK then Im confused, why would I move my engine and driveline to the left when Im turning right? This will put more weight on the outside sponson causing a less affective turn, I always thought putting weight closer to the right will aid in turning and help with counter balance engine torque?

You guys have seen the early 80s Miss Budweiser how they had not just the driveline but the entire cockpit and canopy area offset to the left to help aid in turning left.