Lynx cut Octura X442 on OPC VS1

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Tunnel Boaters,

That is a lot of propeller on a O.S. outboard in it's stock configuration.

We have had outstanding results recently with a Octura M-440 Lynx-Cut

and an ABC 40 x 53 Lynx-Cut, both with reduced cup on the trailing edge

at .7 radii. The O.S. motor does not respond very well to a lot of trailing edge

cup. Most of these 40 to 42 mm propellers have between 3.60" to 3.91" of cup

in them out of the package. If you reduce the cup to 2.90" to 3.33" you will see

a rather significant lap time change in heat racing set up.
default_smile.png

Thanks For Reading,

Mark Sholund

Well i am no prop wizard i have no fancy tool to say what radi an what pitch it is but man my X 442 sure does run extremly GOOD on my lynx, must be the water down here in the south. Oh an my os sure does like.

Kevin,

If you reduce the diameter, and give it a Lynx-Cut and remove some of the stock cup it is a great blade.

The Lynx-21 Tunnel does like the M-440 with a Lynx-Cut at 3.33" of cup or a 40 x 53 with a Lynx-Cut at

3.21" of cup.

Kevin what is the diameter on your X-442? 38 mm? I doubt you are swinging a full 42 mm? Stock motor?

By the way, I would bet you the new ABC 1515-19-38% will be much better when it comes out of Columbus,

Ohio pretty soon. Right now the 1515-17-45% will out run the X-442 stock blade on a 21-Lynx Tunnel set up.

Just a little new propeller update from ABC by the way.
default_smile.png

Thanks For Reading,

Mark Sholund

Last edited by a moderator:
Guys,

I made a mistake by not giving enough information. I'm running my Vs1 with a brushless motor. It's a Dynamite 3660 2000kv motor on 4s batteries. Any suggestions. I'd especially pleased to hear what what Mark has to say.

Regards,

Bob

Bob,

I am not an electric model boater, but I am sure I have some good new