DUMAS SPONSON BOTTOMS

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mark couty

I just can't stand the way the sponson ride pads are put on the bottom of the Dumas sponsons. I am at that point with my 82 Atlas Van Lines. Is there a mod for this that doesn't make the boat look so crappy. If I take my time and am very careful can they be blended in nicely. OK, OK, I know most of you guys dislike the Dumas boats, but since this is my first build I figured I'd start with this kit. Go easy on the novice now. LOL. Provide pics if you have any. All suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
I just can't stand the way the sponson ride pads are put on the bottom of the Dumas sponsons. I am at that point with my 82 Atlas Van Lines. Is there a mod for this that doesn't make the boat look so crappy. If I take my time and am very careful can they be blended in nicely. OK, OK, I know most of you guys dislike the Dumas boats, but since this is my first build I figured I'd start with this kit. Go easy on the novice now. LOL. Provide pics if you have any. All suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Dont put em on! If you already have, sand em off! The sponsons are already too deep....the isuue with Dumas hydros is they pack alot of air under the hull and they they tend to ride kinda tail heavy, which makes them tend to blow off the water....i enjoyed building and running Dumas boats, but they are very old school compared to todays boats! :)

Hi Bill, no I haven't put them on. Will the sponsons without the ride pads be beefy enough, or should I put in some reinforcing on the inside. Mark.

Hi Bill, no I haven't put them on. Will the sponsons without the ride pads be beefy enough, or should I put in some reinforcing on the inside. Mark.
the on mod I did on my dumas sport40 eagle was know down the front helper pad. it sat way to low/to steep.