detounge

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

camaroboy383

when a prop is detounged,,

how do you go about detounging your props fella's????

as far as cutting them,,how much is to much???

the gains from detounging??

pics if possible please

alden

I am by no means a Prop guy so I have PMed a few of the Prop experts to see if they would like to share some info.

In the meantime here is a diagram of the Tongue area as posted by Marty Davis in his Tech Sheets.

There is some good info in his post here:

Prop Info by Marty Davis

De Tongue Prop.jpg

the advantage/gain to detonguing is that you lose the lowest pitch/slowest part of the blade. you also reduce blade area & increase rpm, without sacrificing "useful" blade area, as in reducing diameter. the first props i tongue cut were X series, before i had seen any M series octura props. i just took a straightedge, set it across the hub & scribed a line along it. cut that off square, then blended the cut into the existing blade contour. after seeing the M props, i realize my cut was more agressive than octura's, but after testing both, i like mine better. more rpm & faster accceleration.

Alden,

You can even go up higher, to the drive dog slot and it will

work even better. I grind them or use a 42" x 1" belt sander

and blend the L.E. corner back into the blade. Usually you need

to add some pitch in the center of the blade or a little cup on

the T.E. to help with the cavitation that you just created. This

all needs to be measured for both blades and a Wood pitch gauge

will help with the added pitch and cup measurements. Just make

sure you are wearing a dual cannister mask and some gloves so

the propeller material doesn't absorb into your lungs or skin.

Any Questions Call Me,

Mark Sholund