3.5cc Tunnel Hull Newbie Tips?

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hey Guys!

So I am a newbie to Nitro boating. My dad has done it years ago with a Dumas hot shot 3.5cc K&B for leisure purposes, never raced. My background is mainly Nitro Sedan, Nitro Offroad and Electric 1/10 offroad cars. I recently purchased 2 VS1 Tunnel Hulls through Tower Hobbies for my dad and I. We will equip them with OS outboards and run in the IMPBA B Sport Tunnel class. I live 10min from the Badger Boaters in Kenosha, WI, and plan on becoming a IMPBA and local club member next month. So a couple questions:

1:I have read the IMPBA rules and understand that P/S modding, crank filling,crank balancing, and case modding is all legal? As long as I don't modify the carb bore and exhaust outlet?

2: Anybody use setup boards for boats? http://ne-stuff.blogspot.com/2009/05/building-vs1-part-ii.html

3: Also, I come from transponder scoring for surface racing why hasn't the boating community evolved to this type of scoring?

4: Any cool boat box ideas? I really want to make my own!

Those were just a few questions on my mind. I am aware that some have heartburn over the rules and this thread is not meant for bickering, just understanding the realities of the current rules. Thanks!

I'm no expert but I believe internal mods are allowed just can't touch the outside and openings must stay the same and lower left untouched. Everyone uses some sort of setup board. And I Imagine the transponder setup cost more than most clubs want to spend.

Good luck to you guys this race season!!!

Mitch,