texas cut.

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

camaroboy383

texas cut,,,

how is this done??

different ways to go about a texas cut??

gains from a cut like this???...

pictures would be great...i remember a thread on this style cut a while back,,,so lets bring that back fellas....

alden

I am by no means a prop guy, I have googled Texas cut and found refrences to it but no explanation or diagram of it.

I have PMed a few of the prop guys to see if I can get some input from them.

a texas cut is a continuous straight cut from hub to blade tip, along the trailing edge. usually deeper at the hub, tapering off towards the tip. it seems to unload the prop all across the rpm range more than barr cut (small notch/1/2 round cut near the hub), which seems to unload the prop more on launch than while running.

Last edited by a moderator:
Actually a Texas cut is taking area off the LEADING edge of the prop by making a straight cut starting just after the tongue and ending just before the curve going around the tip. We normally used this on the 1400 series props.

Glenn

Actually a Texas cut is taking area off the LEADING edge of the prop by making a straight cut starting just after the tongue and ending just before the curve going around the tip. We normally used this on the 1400 series props.

Glenn
Doing a Texas cut also increases the blades entry angle or leading edge pitch and increases lift.

Buck

a texas cut is a continuous straight cut from hub to blade tip, along the trailing edge. usually deeper at the hub, tapering off towards the tip. it seems to unload the prop all across the rpm range more than barr cut (small notch/1/2 round cut near the hub), which seems to unload the prop more on launch than while running.
Robin,

What you are describing is a back cut, most often done at or near 15 degrees.Back cutting reduces the lift while barr cutting doesn't.