Surface drive stuffing tube transom exit hole

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kez

Rebuilding a 30 year old Dumas CF .40 deep vee and converting it to surface drive. I noticed it is customary to drill the stuffing tube exit hole over sized to about 1/2". I see it would allow for some small adjustment. But the hull will take on water if it is not moving. Is there anything wrong to drill the hole to 1/4" and glue the stuffing tube in place?

Thanks, k

Brad,
I am going to put a period correct HP .40 in it ;-) I have never tried a stinger strut before. But from what I can see, it would allow for angular adjustment only. I cannot move the drive up and down.
For sure I will stuff a lot of pool noodles in the hull to keep it afloat. Still, I wonder if I need to drill a hole that big
Thanks, k

the bigger hole will let you move the strut up and down , with the stinger you have if there is no provision for adjustment than you can seal the stuffing tube to the transom. the stingers i have allow you to adjust up and down movement. i use plumbers putty to seal an oversize hole so i can adjust at the pond

The stinger strut will allow up and down movement if you slot the hole but then you have a hole to let water in. If it is a nitro boat don't worry as long as you have lotion in the boat.

Brad

Rebuilding a 30 year old Dumas CF .40 deep vee and converting it to surface drive. I noticed it is customary to drill the stuffing tube exit hole over sized to about 1/2". I see it would allow for some small adjustment. But the hull will take on water if it is not moving. Is there anything wrong to drill the hole to 1/4" and glue the stuffing tube in place?

Thanks, k

I would make s nice neat elongated slot not a giant round hole. If you want to be able to adjust the height you need movement. Don't do it and it is a biotch to do later. Got to pull the whole works apart.