Sponson repair on scale--need advice.

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brandon White

Supporting Member
Before I go cutting, I would like some advice on what would be the best way to cut and fix this sponson. It's my first time doing and big repair. Any help it appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_20210124_163846653.jpg
    IMG_20210124_163846653.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 104
  • IMG_20210124_163908837.jpg
    IMG_20210124_163908837.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 105
My thoughts would be to not cut the existing sponson inside if you can avoid it. You already have the spar and canard mounted to it so that would save some work. If the deck and bottom aren't damaged where they are attached to the sponson inside, I would leave some of that as well. That would give you an area to attach a doubler to the inside that the replacement piece can be fitted and glued to. After that is done, I'd lay a thin layer of glass(two if you prefer) along the joint to give the repair more strength, fair it out with whatever you like and paint.
I'm sure others will have a different approach to how to repair that sponson. Personally, I prefer wood boats as, for me anyway, they are easier to repair

That does change not cutting into the sponson inside, but only enough to replace the damaged area. I would stop at the front of the spar to preclude having to reattach it. Other than that, the rest of my previous post would still apply. Something I hadn't thought about until now is you may want to add a few ribs or stringers, along with the internal doublers I mentioned in my previous post, to stiffen the area being replaced so that it doesn't flex and break the joints