Sharing some info and pictures of my tethered hydroplanes

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ricky Neal

Hi, I'm new to the forum and have already found some incredible information. A few members asked about the tethered hydroplanes that I run so I thought it would be best to share what it is as its a bit of a niche section of our hobby and hopefully some of you may find the information interesting.

First of all, I am by far one of the most junior members of the UK tether hydro community, I have been running for only about 4 years but my boats are competitive and I was hoping to take some British or even international records before Covid hit - Next year I guess!

I will start by explaining what tethered hydros are and then the classes and then I will show some of the boats and engines that I have.

Tethered hydros are hydroplanes that are not RC, in fact, there is no control of the model once it's launched. They are connected to a pole in the model of the lake with some bridles, much like tethered cars. The engines have a venturi rather than a throttle and they are started with an old fashioned string.

These boats have props with a lot of pitch so to help them get going they are launched with a bungee cord.

The idea is to go as fast as possible so the pole in the centre of the lake has a rotary encoder that is connected to a readout on the bank, the competitor signals when to start counting and then the speed is recorded by calculating the speed in which the models completes a number of laps. After a number of heats, the fastest competitor wins for each class.

The classes of tethered hydro's
There a number of different classes but to keep it simple I will focus on the main classes.

A1 - This is 3.5cc (.21cu) surface piercing prop, 3 point hydro's - Fuel is 20% castor oil, 80% methanol