Need help with 3D printing RC Boat with Stratasys J850 Pro

Help Support intlwaters.com:

ercangenis

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2022
Messages
8
Hello everyone, I am pretty new to the RC world as well as to 3D printing. I have access to Stratasys J850Pro to print an RC boat for myself. I am trying to build this boat from thingiverse. However, whatever orientation or slicing I tried, I couldn't get the printer to print the the hull empty inside :/ Is there anyone that can help me with that?

Also is there any forum area here that helps amateurs like me to get started with the first builds? :)

Appreciate the help and glad to be here!

My print video for attention :)

Cheers!
 

Attachments

  • RC_Print.mov
    37.6 MB

Grimracer

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Messages
8,719
if you are printing it with the bottom of the boat facing up.. the printer has to add something (Support) to support the open structure. This then is removed.

Grim
 

ercangenis

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2022
Messages
8
if you are printing it with the bottom of the boat facing up.. the printer has to add something (Support) to support the open structure. This then is removed.

Grim

Thanks for the response! I tried that orientation but the printer still filled it with regular material not support. I wonder if there is something else I need to do or maybe I should try printing in couple pieces idk :/
 

Grimracer

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Messages
8,719
If its filling then the boat is a filled structure.. not open.. yes?
 

ercangenis

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2022
Messages
8
If its filling then the boat is a filled structure.. not open.. yes?

I have checked others that printed the same boat and they are not filled because when it is filled then the boat gets VERY heavy like over 1.5kg unfortunately :) and it has hard time to float.. I wonder if the StrataSys software (GrabCad) is changing the structure of the file to print. It's hard to find people with the same printer to ask.
 

Grimracer

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Messages
8,719
No chance.. the STL as saved is the "model".

MAYBE you can set your slicer to FILL voids..

Grim
 

mr_fons

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
422
In Creality Slicer menu goto, expert, click on switch to full settings, click on expert again and then open expert settings.
In open expert settings click on Black Magic and spiralize the outer contour.

Give that a try.
Sorry I just read you are using a different slicer....

Fons
 

ercangenis

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2022
Messages
8
In Creality Slicer menu goto, expert, click on switch to full settings, click on expert again and then open expert settings.
In open expert settings click on Black Magic and spiralize the outer contour.

Give that a try.
Sorry I just read you are using a different slicer....

Fons

Thanks man! Please forgive my dumbness but I tried using many different slicers but they are all asking something about G codes, extruders etc which my printer does not have.. So, I am not sure if I can still use those slicers with a random info put in those sections :/
 

mr_fons

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
422
Thanks man! Please forgive my dumbness but I tried using many different slicers but they are all asking something about G codes, extruders etc which my printer does not have.. So, I am not sure if I can still use those slicers with a random info put in those sections :/
I'm also learning about the 3D printer world.
 

ercangenis

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2022
Messages
8
There are lots of YouTube videos on 3D printing My favorites are:
https://www.youtube.com/c/CNCKitchen

A quick search will turn up lots of others.

Lohring Miller

unfortunately most of those videos don’t apply to me since the printer I have is completely a different story.. thanks tho. I didn’t just come here without trying to do do it myself or without doingmy research.
 

LohringMiller

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
716
That's why you need to start with a common printer when you are a beginner.

Lohring Miller
 

ercangenis

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2022
Messages
8
People who are having the same problem in the future with PolyJet printers can use MeshMixer software and make the part "Hollow". You can also select the wall thickness and make some holes to empty the support material inside. I hope this helps someone in the future :)
 
Top