Effects of extended struts on Hydros .

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tom Foley

Supporting Member
Last few years there has been an amazing shift to long extended struts on many outriggers . Aside from moving the prop back from the rudder does anyone have some back to back handling testimony to add ? Better handling , worse , pulls more prop , less prop . Interested to hear some feedback as I have never tried one before . It would seem that it would lengthen " wheelbase " so to speak and make it handle smoother but that has not been my observation watching others . Pic for attention . Thanks for all replies !

Attachments

• 12322881_10207842622335093_2098220047464016123_o.jpg
    12322881_10207842622335093_2098220047464016123_o.jpg
    92.8 KB · Views: 42
Last edited:
I know you said on riggers but I found this past summer running one on my p hydro I was blowing over a lot switched to a standard strut and the boat was more stable.

I know you said on riggers but I found this past summer running one on my p hydro I was blowing over a lot switched to a standard strut and the boat was more stable.
Jack,

I have found the exact opposite effect on outriggers. Blowing off is is all about attitude, and the extended strut seems to provide additional leverage, preventing the attitude from increasing to a point where sufficient lift is present to cause the boat to blow off.

Tom,

I have NOT done back to back tests to sufficiently prove the above mentioned theory. I build my boats with extended struts and the seem reluctant to blow off once they are dialed in. It's just that: My theory.

Just my thoughts.

Thanks. Brad.
Titan Racing Components
BlackJack Hydros
Model Machine and Precision LLC

The longer strut increased the after plane thus making the boat more stable and less likely to blow off.

It also can result in turning less prop due to increased tail weight