Digital Nitro Squish Gauge

Help Support intlwaters.com:

Daniel's Racing

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,323
I made up a couple nitro squish gauges today. Standard glow plug only. No turbo adapters.

$78 plus $6 to ship.

Please send the $84 to [email protected]

Thank you,

Be out of the shop most of the day tomorrow. So I can't reply to any postings.

ONE IS SOLD ONE AVAILABLE

 

RichJones

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2016
Messages
124
I made up a couple nitro squish gauges today. Standard glow plug only. No turbo adapters.

$78 plus $6 to ship.

Please send the $84 to [email protected]

Thank you,

Be out of the shop most of the day tomorrow. So I can't reply to any postings.

ONE IS SOLD ONE AVAILABLE

I’ll take one Daniel. Sending Paypal

Rich
 

Daniel's Racing

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,323
How do these work?
While assembling the engine you install in glowplug hole of button and set in on sleeve with approx what shims you think it needs. Run piston up until it hits the button and zero the gauge so it knows point of contact.
Then assemble the engine and roll it around tdc. The lowest number the gauge reads as it goes around tdc is clearance. Now you can adjust shim stack to give squish clearance you want to run.

Any engines that you can remove all shims and the piston is able to contact the button then on those engines you would not need to remove piston. Simply pull the shims and zero the gauge with piston against the button then install shims and measure.
 
Last edited:

Wasted wages

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2006
Messages
797
While assembling the engine you install in glowplug hole of button and set in on sleeve with approx what shims you think it needs. Run piston up until it hits the button and zero the gauge so it knows point of contact.
Then assemble the engine and roll it around tdc. The lowest number the gauge reads as it goes around tdc is clearance. Now you can adjust shim stack to give squish clearance you want to run.
Gotcha.....seems simple enough!
Work the same for a dished piston, or do you measure and adjust for that?
 

Daniel's Racing

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,323
Gotcha.....seems simple enough!
Work the same for a dished piston, or do you measure and adjust for that?
It makes no difference if dished or domed. The tool measures and indexes off the center of piston same way to zero gauge and again to read clearance. Reading from the dish or dome bottoming point to the pistons height at TDC includes that dome or dish when both zero is set and when clearance is read. So it can be flat or anywhere above or below flat and make no difference.
You can just mate the piston perfectly to the button and set the gauge to zero also. That would give you your point of contact without any shims in the figures yet. Then assemble and check the actual squish clearance.

Do you still have one available?

If so, I will take it.
Those two are sold but I can make another. Please send the $84 to [email protected]

Thank you.
 
Last edited:

Daniel's Racing

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,323
Are you going to make it with turbo adapter as well?
I need spent turbo plugs. They are delicate to make. I can make them for $20 send me a couple spent turbo plugs. They are easy to make mistake so send 2-3 if you can so it ensures I get a perfect one made up.
 
Last edited:

Wasted wages

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2006
Messages
797
It makes no difference if dished or domed. The tool measures and indexes off the center of piston same way to zero gauge and again to read clearance. Reading from the dish or dome bottoming point to the pistons height at TDC includes that dome or dish when both zero is set and when clearance is read. So it can be flat or anywhere above or below flat and make no difference.



Those two are sold but I can make another. Please send the $84 to [email protected]

Thank you.
PayPal sent!
Will PM you my address information..

Thanks!
Frank
 

Daniel's Racing

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,323
Then I will have one with turbo adapter.
I´m living in Sweden,
Thanks
Yes sir if I have the spent turbo plugs I can machine them into the adapter needed. Maybe someone will send a few and I get lucky and don't mess them up as shipping is so expensive lately and running very slow everywhere.
 

AzMandella

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2020
Messages
146
If you get Turbo adapters made I would like to order the gauge with both standard and turbo adapters
 

Steve White

Well-Known Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2020
Messages
207
If Frank needs one, I gotta have one too...looks like a timesaver.

Paypal sent, PM sent with shipping address.
 
Top