Yo Tom lets talk

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slideblues

Hey Buddy!

Know you have been Windows free for some time. So lets me ask ya dis.........

I have been doin reaserch on Distros for laptop use,

Two keep comming up,

1) SuSE 10.2 Thought this was server oriented but flies on laptops

2) Ubuntu 6.10 Easy install but you have to work out a fix for the network wireless

Now there is also Linspire 5.0 but this is PC oriented, laptops present probs.

Currentlly using a 06 Acer Aspire 3690 1.6g proc 60gig Hdd, Network wireless capable.

Running Vista, Using Firefox for years now love it!

So what are your suggestion's Dude?

Gene :D

Last edited by a moderator:
Gene, i'm glad you asked :) Twice.... sorry been busy...

Now lets start with i'm not a computer expert.... really I'm not. I'm real good with them obviously but i've never had any training either. If you put me on a command line I will be completely lost.... linux command line even worse.

Having said that I have tried over a dozen Linux distros www.distrowatch.com is an excellent website for that. What do I look for in a linux distro?

1)Has to install easily

2)Has to look good

3)Has to do everything I need it to do:

-complete office suite

-email, web browser

-play videos (most don't)

-macromedia flash

-install new software easily (important as this can be real hard)

What's my pick? What can do everything I need? What keeps the kids happy (play online games and webkinz) and the wife from complaining?

www.linspire.com