Silent Engines......William "Bill" Coleman

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eekern

Hello All,
I searched and did not see any notice about Bill, so I thought I would take a few minutes.

The RC world lost a great one recently. Bill Coleman passed away back on March 23rd. I was unable to attend his visitation, so I thought I would pay my respects here.
I first met Bill in the late '80s. I was about 12 years old and there was a summer school program about Radio Control offered at UWL, the local WI university branch here in La Crosse. Bill was the teacher. I attended and was hooked ever since.

In the '90s, Bill was the president of the La Crosse RC Model boat club. With a huge personality, and as a former pro football player, he was larger than life, figuratively and literally.

Bill was a teacher by trade and it suited him. I have talked to many people over the years that had him as such, and to a person, they said he was one of the best/favorite teachers they ever had. He was an art teacher and artist himself who often brought 1/8th scale RC hydros and large reptiles to school. I doubt too many teachers ever did that!

I could go on and on about Bill. There are plenty of stories to share about him.
If you have one, I would would love to hear it. He always put a smile on my face.

My condolences to his wife, Sarah, and the rest of his family.

Godspeed Bill.

Very sad news. He was one of the nicest guys and a true host for model boat racing in Lacrosse. Good memories from Pettibone Island;
RIP

Sad to hear. I remember Bill very well. He really enjoyed 1/8th scale boats. I always enjoyed talking with him. Rest in peace Bill!

Steve Ball

I am very saddened.. I will post some pictures when i can.. he was a FANTASTIC guy. O man.. (thanks Eric for posting this)