O.S. outboard won't start

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris Dixon

My friend has an O.S water cooled outboard that was bought as new....still has a real tight spot in the sleeve. So it feels new and after inspection inside the muffler chamber it appears new to me. Anyway it will not start at all. I've been messing with O.S outboard for about 3 yrs now and this one has me stumped...The glow plug is good. The fuel is good and the only way it will even make and effort to fire is if we put a little fuel in the carb or cylinder then it will run for a couple seconds. Needle valve is has been turned form 2 to 2.5 out and nothing. The mixture control screw appears to be set correctly. Any suggestions?

Last edited by a moderator:
I am by no means a expert, but it sounds like a fuel delivery issue. I would check that there is no blockage from the pressure nipple to the tank or a air leak at the tank. Then I would check that a pice of crud has not gotten to the needle... Try squirting wd-40 through the fuel inlet to the carb at wot. I would try this with carb off the engine as I have heard that wd is not goodon some of the smaller engines with a crank insert... Not sure if yours has one or not. Hope this helps.... I'm sure someone with more experience will chime in.

First thing to do is remove pressure line and fuel pickup line and pressure the tank to check for air leaks. Put a piece of fuel line on the carb nipple and with the carb fully open blow through it. If you have a flow meter it should flow around 70. Make sure all the bolts are tight on the engine. Open the needle valve and start the engine with finger over the carb opening. The engine should pull fuel up the fuel line if the carb is partially closed and then start.