nitro outboard problems

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
J

jhauschild

hey.

I'm new at the the wonderful world of nitro boats and I'm startintg to hate it. I have a Cat. with a 3.5 outboard on it. Tha problem that I am haven' is that when I get it into the water and take off it seems to bog down and then sudenly take off, shooting out of the water several feet, and then it goes right back into the bog again, then doing it all over again and again. I have changed the trim and moved the motor up and down in the water with out much of a change. I also changed the richness lean and so forth, I got it to run a little longer that's it. Also the boat dies after a few jumps out of water as I explained earlier. I did notice that the fuel lines aren't very tight and there looks as if there may be some air in them. SO, what do I have left to do besides sell it and get a gas boat?

Generally speaking, try this:

1) Use fresh fuel, nitro draws moisture big time, set your needle to the manufactures recommended setting for the run time of your engine, new,or broke in, and use a new glowplug.

2) Make sure the weighted end on the pickup tube in your fuel tank is not moving around and starving out.

3) Make sure your fuel tank vent is not covered up by fuel, should stick up in the little bubble on top of your tank.

4) Check your backpressure lines, from the lower unit on the motor to the vent connection.

5) Return your setup to the propshaft level with the bottom of the sponsons and parallel to the transom.

6) Check to make sure your throttle cable is not binding up from full left turn to full right turn on the outboard.

Follow the above steps and that should get ya goin,

Gene ;D