Are these strakes NAMBA legal???

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Darin Jordan

Gentlemen,

Dick suggested that I post this question to you guys to see what you'd say. I was working on this hull for N1, but may ultimately end up using it for O-Mono. I am a stickler for being legal, but don't mind exploring the rules a bit on occassion... Heck, what can I say, I'm a race-car driver... that's what we do! B)

ElLobo_Bottom_002.JPG

ElLobo_Bottom_005.JPG

So, what do you think... Legal or not??? I've read the rules carefully, and they DO say that the strakes must be parallel to the keel if they extend into the back half of the hull, but they also say that they can be up to 3/4" wide... There is no mention of which side of the strake must be parallel, nor do they say that the strakes must remain at a constant width...

I'm sure I'm stepping into a gray area, which is always dangerous, but at this point, there doesn't appear to be a defined rule that makes what I've done to this hull NOT legal, just doesn't is a little unclear as to whether it is...

The side of the strake closest to the keel IS parallel to the keel. The outside is up to a point, afterwhich the strakes get wider, but do not exceed the 3/4" maximum, measured as shown in the NAMBA rulebook, nor do they exceed the 3/16" maximum height limit.

Worst case is that I'll have to trim the outside of them down to make them parallel down both sides (with respect to the keel)...

I'm thinking it may be a little tough to control, but we'll see... Dick thinks it may drive the nose down too much by creating too much lift at the rear, but again, I'm a little new at this and am only working from theory (and by something that a successful local racer did to his N1 Mono boat...).

Any opinions would be appreciated...

Thanks,

Darin Jordan said:
Gentlemen,