Help Support IntlWaters by donating using the link above.
Photo

What engine

• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 seaducerpete

seaducerpete

National Racer

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,496 posts

Posted 13 September 2017 - 10:56 AM

Going to build a gas mono what do you recommend for a motor

#2 Tony Jacuzzi

Tony Jacuzzi

World Racer

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,670 posts

Posted 13 September 2017 - 11:03 AM

Pete PM sent

#3 Dennis Somers

Dennis Somers

• Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

Posted 13 September 2017 - 02:48 PM

I'm sorry Pete, I don't know what your experience is with gas boats. I will assume you want to heat race it. If you don't mind putting some money into a top end motor ( depending on the class ), you can't go wrong with the Pioneer. It will not make a poor or inexperienced build into a rocket, but Peter ( my son ) and I have been modifying these Pioneer motors for about 5 years and selling them for about 3, under the banner SRI Motorsports. We have a lot of very happy customers in Europe and North America.

We can and have built Pioneers from < 27ccs. to 30.5ccs. for everything from 36" Sprint cats ( 100+ MPH SAW ) to 60+" offshore ocean racers ( Burmuda, Florida ). These are NOT finicky, high strung, touchy, PITAs. They start very easily, launch quickly, and pull to whatever you prop them to. Turn-around time on our work is not fast ( we are in Canada ), but you get back an entirely different animal.

For more info you can check out the thread " Modified Quick Draws " on the Manufacturer's for sale forum on JRCBD, and I have a few pics in the Member's Gallery here.

If you want to start with a Zenoah based engine, there are lots of modifiers all over the States. Two of the finest builders you will ever find are Matthew ( M&D Racing Engines ) and Carlo ( CC Racing Engines ).

Edited by Dennis Somers, 20 October 2017 - 02:51 PM.

#4 Buckshot

Buckshot

World Racer

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,299 posts