Solder for flex shaft ?

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris Davis

I have a new flex shaft I am trying to solder. I always use ezflow silver solder. Nothing I have sticks to this thing. The flex shaft is black in color and when wire wheeled is silver looking.

Has anyone ran into this problem? Any ides would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Chris

I use some fine grit sandpaper and rough up the area I want the solder applied. I believe I've used 350-500 grit with good results.

The flex shaft may have a lubricant on it. Clean it with Brake Clean first, use a good flux and then solder.

Chris, Soak the end of the cable in muriatic acid.. about 5min and your end will be ready to solder.

grim

The cable is new and have tried cleaning with brake clean and sanding before soldering. I will try the Muriatic acid. I am a welder by trade. Soldered many flex shafts, this one is just giving me trouble.

Thanks for the ideas

Chris

If you are talking about the loose end of the cable I would not solder it. I know this goes against every thing you have heard. But to solder that end will lock the conductors from moving. This will cause the shaft to break in time either at the stub or the motor. What happens is when you place the shaft into a shaft log tube with a little bend the conductors try to move but can not and will bend back and forth like a coat hanger and break. I soldered shaft 30 years ago and they all ways broke. Started making shafts at that time started to understand what was going on. I have shafts that are over 20 years old that I still run. The shafts that are in my twin have been in over 20 twins and I do not know there age.

I manufacture the SST shaft that you may have or have seen around. And I will replace any shaft that breaks in the stub weld so long as it has not been soldered on the other end.

Mark,