White Gas in Gas Hydros

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FlyinFinn

OK, I am a relative newbie to the GAS boat scene and i have questions regarding the NAMBA rules on fuel for gas hydros. A member of my local club is running white gas, or Coleman fuel, in his gas hydro with 8 ounces per gallon of Amsoil of some kind. A few reasons he likes this is that there is no stinky gas smell, white gas is very clean burning, and the diaphrams in his zenoah carburetor last much longer. Now, I heard white gas has a octane rating of 55 or so and gasoline of course has much higher octane ratings like 85 to 120 or so. My question is : is white gas legal with regard to NAMBA rules? Also, to run white gas, what modifications would you need to make to a Zenoah motor to run it well?

Jeff

Last edited by a moderator:
I hold the IMPBA LSG36cc Oval record using Coleman in a QuickDraw 30.5cc engine.

Back to back test showed no difference in speed. A very small adjustment to the needle valve was required.

We did a comparison of legal and illegal fuels and oils on an M&D Zenoah. We only compared power. Below is the full article.

Lohring Miller

Gasoline and cheating.pdf

Attachments

• Gasoline and cheating.pdf
    537.7 KB · Views: 145
Last edited by a moderator:
I am interested in getting into gas boats. I do not like monos. With that said what would be the best class to start out with. I ran .21 outriggers in Germany.

Finn, white gas ( Coleman ) is a good choice for most of our marine gas motors. Higher compression billet models may need more octane.